Kogi Assembly Crisis Deepens As 5 Members Impeach Speaker

Five lawmakers yesterday impeached the speaker of the Kogi State House of Assembly. The five members, three All Progressive Congress, APC and two Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, lawmakers allegedly impeached the already embattled speaker, Rt. Hon. Momojimo Lawal.

The 25 member House of Assembly depleted to 20 due largely due to tribunal rulings which has sent some members packing and others waiting for re-run scheduled for February 20, 2016.

With this development, it was observed that PDP has 13 while APC has seven members, but with political maneuvering and some level of intrigues, APC with less number is dominating the House.

Before yesterday’s scenario, Hon Godwin Osuyi lead members had allegedly impeached Rt. Hon. Momojimo Lawal.

Briefing newsmen after the alleged impeachment where journalists were barred from watching the proceeding, the spokesperson of the group, Hon Friday Sani (PDP Igalamela/Odolu) stressed that impeachment had been concluded and Hon Imam Umar representing Lokoja 1 had been elected speaker to replace Momojimo Lawal.

But according to Rt Hon Momojimo Lawal, flanked by all the remaining 11 PDP members, the status quo ante remains, insisting that nothing has changed and that he remains the speaker of Kogi Sstate House of Assembly.

The post Kogi Assembly Crisis Deepens As 5 Members Impeach Speaker appeared first on Nigerian News from Leadership News.

Daily Nigeria News © 2015 Quantcast